3h ago
The "Discard Changes" dialogue slows down patch browsing
When auditing patches, a user often makes quick adjustments while testing them out before quickly switching to another patch. But because they modified the patch, they are presented with the "Discard Changes" dialogue, since they may have tweaked some parameters. During this process, the user usually doesn't care about minor tweaks they made to patches they were auditing. They want to move on to the next patch as soon as possible. The confirmation dialogue is slowing them down.
Need a good solution for that, so that the users who care about the changes don't accidentally lose them and the users who care about quick patch audits aren't slowed down.
One solution could be to have another smart folder that automatically keeps track of discarded patches. I like this. However, this doesn't feel like a solid replacement, as with "discard changes", the user is aware they are about to lose the undo history.
Another solution is to have an option to disable the confirmation dialogue temporarily while doing this. The trick here is that the user shouldn't forget to enable it back to prevent accidental loss of work. Maybe when the patch browser is open only during that time it can enable audit mode and as soon as the browser is closed, it's auto disabled.
Pending